Painting and empathy research

Someone commented that I haven’t written much here about my paintings, or shown many, even though last year’s visit to Kenya pushed me into a particularly productive phase of art making.

I have been painting and drawing for many years. I started late as, like many pupils at the time of grammar schools, I was steered towards maths and science and away from art. Once started though, I discovered that I love the process, and sometimes the product. Working with colour and shape on paper or canvas feels so wonderfully different from the black and white orderliness of text and writing.

This year I have reduced my university work to spend more time on painting. Having full days to spend on art is really making a difference, and making me very happy.

After Kenya, I painted landscapes from the photos that I brought back and from my memories. Gradually they got more abstract and became more about the emotions I had felt being in Maralal and talking with the people there. Now I am working towards an exhibition of the paintings.

More soon about the process of painting and remembering.

20130518-133122.jpg

Comments
2 Responses to “Painting and empathy research”
  1. I’m looking forward to hearing and seeing more of your poetic life work.

  2. Antonio Barcelona says:

    Dear Lynne,

    I didn’t know anything about your pictorial abilities. Congratulations! We need to do something other than writing on our academic topics.

    Best
    Antonio

Leave a Reply

